Zanzibar at a Glance

Zanzibar is an archipelago of two main islands (Unguja and Pemba) and about    52 islets.

Land area:  It covers 2332 (Unguja- 1464 and Pemba- 868) square kilometers

Political:     It was united with Tanganyika in 1964 to form the United Republic  of Tanzania.

Location:   It is located 35km off the coast of Mainland Tanzania.

Climate:    It is tropical, hot & sunny. On average there are over 2750 hours of  sunshine per year.

Local time:  3 hours ahead GMT

Population:  About 1.3 million (2012 census), at growth rate of 2.8%.

GDP Growth rate: 7.5% (2017)

GDP Per Capita: US$ 907 (2017)

Culture:     Swahili culture (cocktail of African, Arabian and Indian).

Official language:  Kiswahili & English